Instructions For a Teenage Armageddon by Rosie Day

Reviewed by Siena Mia, Cerdon College, Merrylands

Instructions For a Teenage Armageddon by Rosie Day

Written and curated by English actress and author Rosie Day, Instructions For a Teenage Armageddon is the ultimate uplifting, witty guide for any young girl dealing with the “misfortunes” of adolescence. 

This book includes the personal experiences of 30 incredibly brave women who look back on their teenage years and discuss their biggest and most difficult moments; accepting yourself, standing up for what you believe in, dealing with the falling out of friendships and, most importantly, being a girl. These women are the role models for the next generation of the world’s female pioneers and their advice is guaranteed to help all girls, no matter their age, culture or any definitive features, thrive in the future. Instructions for a Teenage Armageddon teaches all people that the first step to accepting the harsh realities of adolescence is to accept yourself and what makes you, you! From the 30 inspiring stories, to the bits of advice from Rosie herself, the book ensures that we can get through teenage-hood and be prepared for a world that will accept us for who we are.

I personally received a lot of helpful advice from reading this book. Being a teenage girl myself, I found I could really connect with some of the situations that were presented by the collaborators. Their stories opened my eyes to the fact that I am not alone in this ever-changing world and I am sure that other young girls like me would feel the same after reading it. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about other peoples’ experiences of their own adolescence and the calm and amusing way in which advice was delivered.

Rating: Overall, I give this book 4.5/5 stars as I believe that it could prove useful for any young girl who is struggling with the obstacles that being a teenage girl brings.

Age recommendation: I recommend this book to ages 13+ as it does deal with some mature themes and there is some mild vulgar language.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *