Girls in boys’ cars by Felicity Castagna

Reviewed by Millen, Year 9, Cerdon College, Merrylands

Girls in boys' cars by Felicity Castagna
Girls in boys’ cars by Felicity Castagna

Girls in Boys’ Cars follows two high school students named Rosa and Asheeka who want to escape their homes because they want to have fun and adventure. They make a decision to go on a road trip. They have no money so they decide to break the law. 

Askeeka and Rosa are having so much fun, they have forgotten about their families. During their time Rosa’s parents are worried and scared and something serious has been exposed on social media which will ruin Asheeka’s life.

The novel opened my eyes to the world of bullying, abuse and acceptance.  It taught me how to face problems and how to resolve them.

I enjoyed reading this book but I believe the ending could have been more detailed. I would have liked for the characters’ journeys to have been more thoroughly described. I could connect with this novel because of the emotions and storyline. I rate this book a 4 out of 5 stars. 

I recommend this book for children who are 13 years and older due to the language and some of the situations. 

Good for Book clubs’ 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *