Anything but fine by Tobias Madden

Reviewed by Gretel, Year 12, Cerdon College, Merrylands, NSW 

Anything but fine by Tobias Madden
Anything but fine by Tobias Madden

Everyone should read this book. That could be the whole review. ‘Anything But Fine’ by Tobias Madden follows Luca, a Year 11 student from Ballarat. When a missed step leaves his foot broken, his dreams of a career in ballet crumble as well. As his life is flipped upside down he meets Jordan (who everyone says is straight) and Luca finds himself falling for a second time. Ultimately this book is about self-discovery and the things one loses and gains on that journey. I saw myself in Luca and his friends as they conquered high school. I laughed. I sobbed. I almost fell off of my bed. I love this book and I would recommend it to everyone, young and old, but most specifically to those who have yet to discover themselves in one way or another. This book is for you. 

Rating: 5 stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *